“I do not hide your righteousness in my heart; I speak of your faithfulness and salvation. I do not conceal your love and your truth from the great assembly” -Psalm 40:10

I am so excited about this new post that I don’t even know where to begin. God has been completely blessing me these past few days with open doors and opportunities to do His work. First off, Sunday was a big day for me. I was invited by the pastor of  a local church called Emmanuel Baptist to speak to their youth group on Sunday morning, and as terrified as I was, I accepted the offer. Due to having a busy weekend, I had no time to really prepare for what I was going to speak about, however God was faithful to give me words and even gave me a topic as I was driving there on Sunday morning. The topic that He gave me was “God Desires to Use Ordinary People to Do Extraordinary Things”. It was a perfect way to share my testimony and to speak about me being an ordinary teenage girl who is just like them, however God had more than just a mediocre life planned out for me. I challenged the teens to look at their own life and to question what the Lord was calling them to do. I tied in various scriptures including Jeremiah 29:11, 2 Corinthians 12:9-11, & Luke 18:27. I believe that somehow, someway, the Lord was able to use me as His mouthpiece and that He was glorified that morning. Amen! Well the story of Sunday does not end there. When I had been invited to speak for the youth group, I was also invited to play a few worship songs for their Sunday night service that same day. After speaking, I began to feel spiritually attacked (of course, right?) & started second guessing whether or not I wanted to come back again that night. I felt completely drained after speaking, and the thought of coming back that night and getting on stage in front of a whole bunch of people completely frightened me. So after speaking, I had decided that I was going to call the pastor and tell him that I wasn’t able to come that night to sing. However, the Lord’s Will triumphed over mine, and I ended up going anyway. I knew that the Lord wanted me there. When I got there, I did a sound check with my guitar and then sat down in a chair waiting for the service to begin. As I was sitting there, the Lord began speaking to my heart and told me that before I play the songs, He wanted me to speak about surrendering to the Lord’s will (So of course, I shared the story of how I even ended up in Powell County). I was terrified; speaking is definitely not my strong suit and I get so tremendously nervous every time. But again, God is faithful and gave me every word. Another amazing thing that happened last night, is that I was able to meet a woman by the name of Kathy, who is the advisor of Promise Child here in Powell County. She was so excited that I was there, and began explaining to me that lately she has been so busy and burdened by different things going on in her life, and that she believes the Lord has sent me here in just the right timing to help her with Promise Child. We started right away! This morning she picked me up, and we took the mother of a Promise Child  shopping for new winter clothes for her little boy. It turned out that I already knew the young boy, so it was such a blessing to go shopping for him and pick out clothes that I just knew would look adorable on him. After shopping, Kathy took me to lunch at a small place here in town called Bruins. During lunch, we discussed all of the ways that I could help her and she explained to me the system that they use for Promise Child. She even assigned me a child to mentor! Her name is Brittany, and I was able to meet her back in April when my mission team and I took her and a few others in a limo to go shopping. I’m so glad that I now get to know her on a more personal level and get to be a part of her life. This Thursday I will be meeting with her, so please pray that all goes over well. I am truly in awe of God and the way He literally just hands me opportunities AND the strength to complete each task that I am given, no matter how impossible or terrifying it may seem.

 

3 thoughts on ““I do not hide your righteousness in my heart; I speak of your faithfulness and salvation. I do not conceal your love and your truth from the great assembly” -Psalm 40:10

  1. I’m glad to see that God is using you here in Powell County. He is definitely making an impact through you and to you. Every time I see these blogs I feel more motivated to get up and have a better day. Just a good reminder that what your doing is helping someone each and every day.

  2. Praise the Lord!! “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the LORD rejoices to see the work begin…” Zech. 4:10 nlt

  3. Hi Honey

    I am soooo excited that God is doing so much even beyond your expectations. I got goosebumps while reading your blog! Keep up the work of the Lord and enjoy those pre speaking jitters because whether you know it or not you are gifted to speak and will be doing it a lot more than you know! Love you call me when you get time!

    Julie

Leave a Reply

