“But I want you to know, brethren, that the things which happened to me have actually turned out for the furtherance of the gospel…” -Philippians 1:12

The scripture above is the apostle Paul writing to Philippi about his imprisonment having the opposite of its intended effect. Paul was thrown into prison for preaching the gospel, but in the verses right after this one, he tells of all the people that he was able to share the gospel with because he was put into prison. He also said that he was able to encourage other believers to be confident when preaching the Word. I can’t help but look back in my life and see so many situations that had the opposite effect than that which was intended. Genesis 50:20 says “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives”. With every single opportunity and situation that the Lord throws at me out here on the mission field , I can see a time in my life that the Lord used to prepare me for each and every single task. All the hardships, all of sin that I struggled with for way too long, all of the broken relationships and all of the tears all served a greater purpose- to be God’s hands and feet to bring comfort to the brokenhearted. I am so amazed by that.

 

It’s been a while since I have updated you guys about all of the ministry opportunities that the Lord is handing me, so I thought I would quickly share just a few….

*Food Bank- Every Wednesday morning I go over to the local food bank and help pass out food to families of low income. I am always super blessed by seeing so many people from the community and even sometimes get opportunities to minister to the families that come pick up food. I also enjoy being around the other people that volunteer at the food bank. There is a precious 84 year old man named Matt that ministers to my heart every single week without even trying. I look forward to every Wednesday and always come home exhausted!

*Home For Health- Every Friday I drive down a long and curvy road to help serve at the Home For Health. Each week is a different type of cleaning, but I am always so excited to be around the family that runs it. The Day’s bring such a joy to my heart and make me feel right at home.

*Montgomery County FCA- On Friday mornings I drive to Mt. Sterling to help lead an FCA club at Montgomery County High School. So far, I have already been given the opportunity to share my testimony in an auditorium full of high school students. I have also been able to have a meeting with the student leadership to encourage them to share Jesus on their campus. In the future, I will be able to use my gift of worship with them and attend FCA outreach events.

*Discipleship/mentoring- I am starting to disciple/mentor multiple high school aged girls that are seeking a better relationship with the Lord. Each opportunity has been handed to me in different ways and I am always amazed at the way God opens doors. One of the girls I mentor online through facebook, one I try to meet with every week or so, and one I will soon start meeting with weekly and I plan on taking her through the discipleship books that were put together by Pastor Brad. Mentoring and discipling young girls is something that I am so passionate about. It truly is why I am here.

*Promise Child- I have been assigned a Promise Child to mentor. Her name is Brittany and she is around my age. My prayer is that while taking her shopping for food and school clothes that doors will be opened to share the gospel.

*Hope Hill- I am still in the process of a background check. Once I get cleared, I will be going to Hope Hill weekly to visit with the girls 🙂

*Stanton Baptist- I help teach/lead a class for teenage girls on Wednesday nights. It is always such a blessing and I am having a fun time getting to know the girls and their different personalities.

*Breaking Free Committee- Were working on putting together a youth conference in January that will be open to the community. Please keep us in prayer as we make plans and get things together.

 

I know I’ve said it a million times, but I truly am thankful for your prayers. Your prayers make my ministry effective. I know that it is not me reaching these kids. I am a kid myself. It is the Word of God that penetrates the hearts of the people. I got to share my testimony with a girl today, and it is so humbling to remember where I came from and the life that I was living. God changed my heart & He did it so I could serve Him. So I just live everyday not knowing what in the world I’m doing, but through His Spirit He guides me. I’d have to say that these past six weeks that I have been here has been the BEST time of my life- Right in the center of God’s Will.

One thought on ““But I want you to know, brethren, that the things which happened to me have actually turned out for the furtherance of the gospel…” -Philippians 1:12

  1. Wow, this got me stirred to keep praying for you!! So stoked for the ministries God has you apart of! “he who waters will also himself be watered” Prov.11:25

Leave a Reply

